October recap & vegan zucchini noodles with tofu

Sorry about the lapse in blogging. My excuse is a not-so-inspirational month. Usually I try to post only positive things, but life sometimes kicks you around and October has been a kick-fest. I haven’t had a normal running week in almost 4 weeks now and I have lost over €400 in random problems. They say when life gives you lemons, look at cute animals on Pinterest (oh, that’s not it?), but I’ve been doing yoga to try to keep myself sane. I’ve had moderate success… I think I’ve only cried twice?

At the beginning of the month I had my wisdom teeth out, which left me not running for a week. There was also the whole actual operation/ not being able to open my mouth part which wasn’t so fun. (Financial damage – €325)

wisdom teeth removal = 1 week no running + no fun

wisdom teeth removal, or “fifty shades of my face”

Luckily, I didn’t miss any serious long runs in that period, but the fun was only beginning. Just before my wisdom teeth removal I started feeling a somewhat-recurring pain in my right foot. From time to time I bruise my sesamoid bone there and so I needed to do some aquajogging for a week… after not running for a week, which means I thought I was going insane. I also resolved that I needed some different shoes (Financial damage – €120).

DSC_3766

new shoes, usually I’m more excited than this… maybe it’s because I hate the color.

One good thing that happened, right around the time of the foot injury was the Nike Paris Centre 10km race. I had not found my new shoes yet and had to run it in Vibram Five Fingers, which I found were the only thing that wouldn’t push on my foot in the wrong place (I even tried making my own orthotics, that was a flop). Somehow I managed to run a PR of 48:22 and I was really proud of how I did mentally during the race (stayed focused, relaxed and motivated).

fotor01

the positive highlight of October – a 10k PR

Just about the time I got my new shoes & start thinking things should go back to normal, I came down with the cold from HELL. It popped up over the weekend, then went away. I thought, “no big deal, probably not a good idea to walk home in the cold after aqua jogging though.” Then, I did a lackluster (4×800, reduced from 6x) track workout on Tuesday morning and by the afternoon the cold had come back with a raging vengeance. I had to work at home for two half days this week & I haven’t coughed so much since I was a kid with asthma.

sick2

this pretty much sums it up

This morning I went out for a two-mile jog and felt like I was going to die. Consequently, I couldn’t get in my last long-run before the Nice-Cannes marathon in November and this whole month has totally killed my confidence. 

I would at least like to end on a positive note though, so I will share with you this delicious vegan recipe:

Vegan Zucchini Noodles & Pan-Fried Tofu

DSC_3792

Serves 2

  • 6 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon rice wine vinegar (I used regular vinegar, which seems to work)
  • 2 teaspoons white miso paste (can be found in Asian stores, like K-mart)
  • 1 large block of extra-firm tofu, water pressed out and cut into thin squares
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon ginger, minced
  • 2-3 large zucchini, peeled into noodle strips with a vegetable peeler
  • 1 apple, peeled, cored, and cut into slivers
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • A dash of white sesame seeds (optional, can be found in most bio stores here)

Instructions:

  1. Combine the first four ingredients in a small bowl. Stir until mixed.
  2. Bring a large pot of water to boil, adding zucchini for about one minute. Transfer to a colander and rinse with cold water. Drain well. Transfer the blanched zucchini to a large bowl with the apple slivers. Toss with half of the miso dressing.
  3. Season both sides of the sliced tofu with salt and pepper. Heat 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil over medium heat in a large skillet. Add in tofu and cook until crispy and browned on both sides. Add ginger about 30 seconds before tofu is finished. Transfer to a plate and set aside.
  4. Top with crispy tofu and sprinkle with the remaining dressing and the sesame seeds.

DSC_3776

One thought on “October recap & vegan zucchini noodles with tofu

  1. Pingback: VeganOut in Amsterdam: De Bolhoed | vegan parisienne

Leave a Reply

