20-mi long run fueled by Pinole bites!

First of all, sorry for the break in posts. The truth is I have been recovering from that crazy stomach, job hunting and obsessing over reading Born to Run. This week I’m back in the game though and promise that another VeganOut is on the way!!

This weekend consisted of three exciting things: Pinole bites, 20-mile long run & guests from Portugal!

Because of Born to Run, the general craze over chia seeds and my dislike of expensive gels, I searched the internet on Friday for a potential recipe to fuel my long runs. What I found was this: Mike’s “Snackable Tarahumara Pinole” Recipe.

ingredients

Pinole bites ingredients

Tracking down the ingredients took a little bit of effort here in Paris. I found the corn meal at a Naturalina and the Chia seeds at this great place that I’m hoping I will get to eat at one day called Pousse-Pousse. It was €7.50 for about 100g of seeds. I’m wondering if they are as expensive in the US… ?

pinole_final

I was pretty happy with how well they turned out and how simple they were to make. Mike is definitely right that the final cinnamon sprinkle on top is what makes them tasty. While they require a little bit more water than gel to swallow during a long run, it definitely felt like less of a ride on the sugar roller-coaster.

As for the long run, Alexei was nice enough to drive me out to Versailles so I could run around in the car-free woods to my heart’s content. I changed shoes between Nike Free 3.0, Vibram five fingers and Brooks Glycerin, which cost me a little time, but in the end I finished in a little over 3 hours.  By coincidence, the Eco-Trail de Paris was going on at the same time and Alexei took some great photos of the race while I ran around in circles.

IMG_20130316_123828

IMG_20130316_125953

After passing out for a while, we got together some olives and soy chips for and appetizer and our guests from Portugal arrived. We went to dinner and then all slept in on Sunday before exploring Paris.

reading

Caught reading about the French Revolution of 1830 while we were out exploring

Reader Questions:

1. What do you use for long-run fuel or an on-the-go snack?
2. Have you tried Chia seeds? What do you make with them?

4 thoughts on “20-mi long run fueled by Pinole bites!

  1. Superb blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little
    lost on everything. Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for
    a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally confused .. Any suggestions? Many thanks!

    • Hi, thanks for your nice comment and for stopping by. I would advise a free platform like WordPress to start out… you can always change to a paid option later after you see how it goes. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

