the truth about cherry smoothies

cherry smoothie

It’s 8am and dark in Paris. The winter darkness is sometimes tough to deal with and when I rolled out of bed this morning after a 13 mile run yesterday I thought a cherry smoothie would be a good idea. I contemplated between mixing it with almond milk or orange juice and when I realized we had no more bananas, decided to go with almond milk. Wrong choice.

Although I use almond milk in a lot of recipes and usually like the slight nutty flavour it gives them, I don’t particularly enjoy the taste of it alone… and my smoothie tasted 100% of almond milk. Blah. I did something I almost never do and poured it out.

The 2nd round I tried it with orange juice and that was much tastier, but it could still use a banana or two for some texture. In my opinion the ideal recipe would be something like this:

  • 1 large banana
  • 0.5 cups of orange juice
  • 0.5 cup of cherries (frozen, or not, with pits removed)

Anti-inflammatory benefits: Cherries are really great for a post-long run day because they are full of anti-inflammatory nutrients and are well-known to be good for your heart. One scientific study out of Oregon even proved that cherries can be a great post-workout recovery option for long-distance runners to help with inflammation. Good luck with creating your own cherry recipes!

2 thoughts on “the truth about cherry smoothies

Leave a Reply

